How To Prevent Cheap Jewelry From Turning Colors

How to prevent costume jewelry from turning colors

Statement necklaces have been super popular lately and I’ve found myself buying quite a few of them. The very first one I bought was a beautiful black waterfall style necklace from Francesca’s. However, after multiple wears, the once gold chain was turning in to an ugly black. I did some research online to see if there was anything I could do to prevent the chain from turning colors. Multiple people said that clear nail polish worked. To me, that sounded like a huge hassle and I knew that there had to be a better alternative. I then remembered that when we were younger, my mom used to have this clear spray that we sprayed on paintings to make them last longer. I went to Hobby Lobby and by the spray paint, I found exactly what I needed. Krylon makes a low odor clear finish spray (I got the gloss finish) for under $8 before their weekly 40% off coupon.

20130227-110427.jpg

To apply, I recommend doing this outside. As with my first image, I lay my necklace on a piece of cardboard and spray a thin layer over it. Once it dries, I flip the necklace over and do the other side. The nice thing about the gloss finish is that I can spray the beads on my necklaces and you can’t tell that there’s a spray on it. I’ve done this on all sorts of necklaces and so far none of them have changed colors. It’s hard to tell the quality of the metal so if it’s not a designer piece, I spray it just to be on the safe side. If you really want to remove it, I found that nail polish remover works.

I haven’t had to yet, but I suppose you can always reapply a thin layer after a year or sooner if you wear the piece a lot. I first tested this out on a necklace that I rarely wore and didn’t care much about just to give me comfort. I recommend you do the same if you’re worried about ruining your favorite necklace.

What tricks do you have to make your costume jewelry last longer?

Leave a comment