Sephora by OPI UV Effects Top Coat Review

I don’t quite remember how I stumbled upon this nail polish online but when I did, I knew that I had to have it. It took me a few tries but I finally found a Sephora that had it in stock. It is advertised to be a top coat with a special UV effect that enhances nail color. In the sunlight, your nail polish shade is supposed to change and in black light, the polish will glow bright white.

At first, I tried this top coat over a light purple pastel polish. Right away, it changed the color slightly making it a more vibrant pastel purple. However, no change when in the sun. After about a week, I noticed that the top coat turned in to a yucky yellow tint. The top coat takes a while to dry which is my biggest complaint. I like to do my nails a few hours before bed and I have yet to have it where I don’t have marks in my nails in the morning.

I have also tried this top coat over a pink polish and a deep red. I couldn’t tell if my nails were a different color simply because it was different lighting or if it was really because of the UV top coat.

This polish does turn any polish color purple under a black light. I had a neon orange color on my toes with this top coat and it did not alter the color though which is nice.

Overall, I’m pretty disappointed in this top coat. For $9.50, it’s not worth it. I love the idea and concept of it though and will finish the bottle.

Have you tried this top coat yet? What colors work best with it?

Leave a Reply

