How to Make Kale Chips

How to Make Kale Chips

I was first introduced to kale chips a year ago by a friend who had found them at our local farmer’s market. It was the first time I had kale and they were surprisingly super addicting. Only downside is that they’re rather pricey. Since then, I have found kale chips not only at my farmer’s market but also at health food stores such as Whole Foods. The price is about the same, $6 for a small bags worth. The kale chips you buy are most likely not baked but dehydrated. Since I don’t see the value of purchasing a dehydrator, the oven will have to do. After several trial and errors, here is how I made homemade kale chips.

1. Purchase 1 bunch of kale. The organic kind was the same price as the non-organic at my local grocery store that particular day so I went organic (I normally don’t). Do you like how my dog photo-bombed my shot? Wash the kale and allow to fully dry (this does make a difference, so be patient).

2. Preheat the oven to 300 degrees. While the oven is heating up, cut the kale in to small pieces (about 2 inches). Be sure to cut out the ribbing. This makes a huge difference on whether or not you end up with crisp kale chips or soggy ones. 2 large stalks of kale fill up 1 baking sheet. I prefer to make smaller batches but feel free to make as much as you want, they go fast! In a bowl, mix the kale with some olive oil. I use about 1/2 tablespoon for 2-3 large stalks worth of kale leaves.

3. Lay the kale leaves flat on to a baking sheet (I like lining mine with parchment paper to prevent it from burning or getting stuck to the tray). I sprinkled sea salt over the kale chips but you can use any seasoning. Bake in the oven for 12-15 minutes. In this case, less is better as your kale chips can go from under-cooked to burnt within minutes (another reason to make small batches if you’re a beginner). Keep an eye on them and add a few more minutes if necessary until you figure out the perfect timing for your oven. They should be slightly golden around the edges and the middle of the leaves should be nice and crispy.

4. Allow them to cool and enjoy!

The next thing I want to make is cheesy kale chips (sans dairy). Yes, you read that right. You can use cashews and some other ingredients in place. So stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

