Peace, Love, and Music – My Coachella Experience

Coachella 2013 059

This past weekend, I was lucky enough to experience all the joys of Coachella. I love music and knew that I had to go while I was living in the Southwest. If you are on the fence on whether or not you should go, do it! I even camped the whole weekend (yes, I camp) to get the full Coachella experience. It really wasn’t that bad, I swear. Below is a glimpse of our home for the weekend.

Coachella camping

The weather was pretty much perfect. While it was hot, it wasn’t at a point where I was uncomfortable. It was also cool at night but not freezing. I surprisingly slept really well. I’m sure the queen sized luxury air mattress didn’t hurt either. We experienced a dust storm on Sunday which kind of put a damper on things but I really can’t complain.

Coachella makes for some great people watching too. Pretty much anything goes. I thought Mardi Gras in New Orleans was crazy. You have to wonder how many people dress like this in real life or if it’s just a costume. I don’t know if it’s a Coachella fashion trend or if this is new, but I’ve never seen so many ill-fitted high-waisted shorts where butt cheeks were clearly sticking out. Suns out buns out I guess?

The music acts were great. I loved seeing some of my favorite bands like the Red Hot Chili Peppers, Passion Pit, Phoenix, and Franz Ferdinand. Major Lazer was probably one of the best acts as he really got the crowd involved and it made for some great mid-day dancing. 2 Chainz was surprisingly pretty fun as well. Hopping from tent to tent, closing your eyes, and dancing to the music is truly a magical experience. I also met some great people as I didn’t know anyone that we camped with, except for an old co-worker who connected us with the group. Below are some pictures that I took throughout the weekend.

Coachella 2013 054

Coachella 2013 055

Sea of people trying to get in for Day 1 of Coachella

Coachella 2013 066

Day 2

Coachella 2013 072

Coachella 2013 086

Day 3 – New friends and old

Artsy photo, one of my favorites

Leave a Reply

