Maybelline BB Cream

Maybelline Dream Fresh BB Cream

When I went to Ulta to return my Too Faced Amazing Face Powder Foundation that I wrote a review on last week, I decided to pick up a BB cream instead of another powder foundation. My skin has been more on the drier side lately and I really liked the Tarte BB Tinted Treatment 12-Hour Primer that I had picked up. There has been quite a few drugstore brands that make BB creams now and I really didn’t want to spend $30 some dollars on something that I might not even like (even if I can return it later). I opted for Maybelline’s Dream Fresh BB 8-in-1 Beauty Balm Skin Perfector ($8.99). Without any testers, I chose their light/medium color as that’s what I usually am for drugstore brands.

I really like the way it feels when I put it on. Unlike my past experiences with tinted moisturizers, it doesn’t leave me feeling oily or sticky. In fact, I can’t even tell it’s there! The color light/medium is perfect for me. It blended in really nicely and you don’t get that unpleasant line on your face that screams, look at me! I have foundation on that poorly matches my skin tone. While it doesn’t give you as thick of a coverage as a foundation might, it definitely helps to even skin tone and blur those imperfections. The difference between this BB cream and Tarte’s BB Primer is the finish. The primer leaves that powdery feeling finish while the BB cream feels more like a light lotion. I think the coverage is about the same. I also like how this has SPF 30 in it to prevent me from getting even more sun spots. My skin is drier now than it is in the summer (where it tends to get oily) so it’ll be interesting to see if this is a product that I still go to in the upcoming months.

I would highly recommend trying this product out. In fact, I probably would purchase this again in the future over Tarte’s BB Primer because they achieve the same things for me but at a much more affordable price. If you’re not sure what color you are, make sure you purchase it somewhere where you are allowed to return it even if it’s opened, like Ulta.

I’ll do a before and after photo next time and upload it here so check back!

What is your favorite drugstore brand BB cream?

Leave a Reply

