Dry Skin, No More!

winter skin care routine banner

Every winter, my skin starts to get really dry and flaky. My usual skin care routine just wasn’t cutting it anymore. I noticed that my under-eyes were dryer than usual and would look even worse when I applied under-eye concealer. I’ve recently discovered Mario Badescu and went to their website to see what products I could get to solve my problems. It was like a second Christmas when my haul came in!

mario badescu haul

I ordered their Oil Free Moisturizer, Healing & Soothing Mask, Facial Spray With Aloe, Herbs and Rosewater, and Hyaluronic Eye Cream. They were also running a promotion for free shipping and a gift with purchase. The gift included a small toiletry bag, a pocket mirror, and 3 large samples (Hydrating Hand Cream, Apricot Super Rich Body Lotion, and Citrus Body Cleanser). With every order, you also get 3 free samples so I picked their Rose Hips Nourishing Oil, Special Mask for Oily Skin, and Cucumber Tonic Mask). I got all the above for less than $60! I’ll do more posts later featuring their products that I have but I wanted to focus this post around combating dry skin.

mario badescu haul

To fight flaky under-eye skin, I use the Hyaluronic Eye Cream in the morning and at night. I never had a need for eye creams until this year. Good thing I got it as a sample for filling out their consultation form (I have combination, oily skin or C , O in Mario Badescu terms). Which, if you haven’t done it yet, go do it. They recommend a bunch of great products for your skin type and send you large samples of them. This eye cream isn’t super heavy or oily and works perfectly under makeup.

I also received their Oil Free Moisturizer as a sample and loved the way it felt on my skin and decided to replace my old facial lotion with this. It hydrates without being oily or heavy. It’s great for night or morning use. It is a little pricey for its size, but if it doesn’t break me out, it’s worth it.

I’ve read a lot of blogs and articles on how great their facial spray was so I decided to try it out since it’s only $7. I love the smell, it’s not too perfumy. It’s just the right amount of rose smell, reminds me of a rosewater Turkish delight. It’s designed to be a great pick-me up for dry skin and can also be used to set your mineral makeup. I wish that it came in a 3 oz option so that you can put it in your carry-on bags. It would be the perfect travel essential. I’ll probably buy a small spray container to pot it in for my next flight.

For extra hydration, I mixed a drop of the Rose Hips Nourishing Oil with my eye cream and moisturizer. You can also pat it on your skin directly. They have a few other serums that I’m interested to try out as well.

I’m happy to report that my skin is no longer dry and flaky. My powder and mineral makeup looks so much better on a smooth canvas. The best part is that I can continue to use these products all-year round and they didn’t break the bank.

aquaphor lip repair

For my lips, my dermatologist recommended Aquaphor. She said that bees wax tends to dry your lips out instead of hydrating them. It’s unscented and reminds me of vaseline or a lotion. It has done a great job on preventing my lips from being noticeably chapped.

neutrogena hand cream

My poor hands also get it pretty bad each winter. Cracked and dry skin on the hands is super uncomfortable. I picked up Neutrogena’s Hand Cream (unscented) after trying a few out at Ulta. Like the package claims, just a dab really does relieve dry, chapped hands! It reminds me of a paraffin wax treatment. It is a heavy cream and your hands can feel a little clammy while it’s on. I wouldn’t want to shake anyone’s hands after application. I did try the sample Hydrating Hand Cream that came with my free Mario Badescu gift and while I love the light scent of it, it didn’t do as much for my dry hands as I hoped it would do.

What is your favorite winter skin care product?

Leave a Reply

