Manicure Monday: China Glaze’s I’m Not Lion

manicure monday banner

China Glaze's I'm Not Lion

In my last Manicure Monday post (it’s been a while, I know) I mentioned that I wanted to find a gold glitter polish. With NYE coming around the corner, I decided to go to Ulta to find it since it would be perfect with my outfit. Surprisingly, I had a hard time finding a chunky gold polish that wasn’t meant to be a top coat. I came across China Glaze’s I’m Not Lion and did a quick swatch. This was the only polish that was opaque enough so I got it.

I'm Not Lion Swatch

It’s not a yellow gold color and leans more towards the silver side. The swatch above is using two coats over a clear base coat. I’ve only had my nails painted for a few days and already it’s chipping. For the fingers that I had to redo, I painted it first with Zoya’s Jules (as swatched in my last Manicure Monday post) and then a single layer of I’m Not Lion. You can’t really tell the difference but it does give it a slightly fuller look. Hopefully it won’t chip as easily too. The good news is that it wasn’t a pain to take off as with some other glitter polishes. I just used regular non-acetone remover with a cotton ball.

I plan on keeping this polish since it was on sale and I like the color. However, I still want to find a more yellow gold glitter polish. I’ll let you know if I find it!

Update: The fingers where I did a gold base polish with one coat of I’m Not Lion over it has not chipped and still looks great. Unfortunately, the polish chipped on most of the other fingers. I would definitely recommend doing a gold base coat with one glitter coat to make your manicure last longer.

Leave a Reply

