2012 Naughty & Nice List

naughty and nice list banner

Now that 2012 is coming to an end, I think it’s appropriate to post my naughty and nice list. It doesn’t consist of just beauty products since I don’t try out enough to have a long naughty list (luckily). Let’s get started, shall we?

Naughty List

  1. Tarte Matte Waterproof Bronzer – I don’t like shimmery bronzers so when I saw that Tarte had a matte bronzer that was also waterproof, I had to try it. However, I was very disappointed within a week of use. I have light-medium skin and the bronzer didn’t add any noticeable color no matter how much I put on. It also wasn’t as waterproof as it says it is. I tried putting some on the back of my hand and it came off pretty easily. At a hefty price tag of $29, it just wasn’t worth it.
  2. TOMS Natural Crochet Women’s Classics – I first saw these on Pinterest and knew they had to be mine. I saw that they sold them at Nordstrom so I went in that weekend to pick them up. However, after wearing them once to work, they were already pretty dirty. While they were comfy for the most part, I was scared to wear them anywhere because of how dirty they got. I tried cleaning them with carpet cleaner, detergent, stain removers, and couldn’t get the dirt off. Also, the crochet was starting to unravel at certain spots. Luckily Nordstrom has a great return policy and I was able to take them back. I noticed that their new version has the crochet over a canvas shoe. I still wouldn’t recommend getting it in white, black maybe.
  3. Aldo – Yup, just Aldo in general. I own a pair of black leather pumps that I wear every day for work and love them. However, when I was on a hunt for a pair of black suede pumps for a wedding, I had the worst experience ever at both stores that I went to. The sales people were pushy, rude, and kept trying to sell me on different styles. They also claimed to have a certain return policy which wasn’t stated on their website. I tried reaching out through Twitter and through their website with no luck on speaking to a real person other than an email claiming that a manager would contact me or tweets asking to send an email to their customer service email address  Since then, I have boycotted Aldo and won’t be shopping there anymore. What a shame, they do make cute shoes.
  4. Tresemme Fresh Start Dry Shampoo – For days where you just don’t have time for a shower but need to remove the smell or oil, dry shampoos are perfect. Baby powder works just fine, if you want to smell like a baby. When this first came out on the market, there weren’t many affordable options available at retail stores. 95% of my hair products are Tresemme but this was definitely a miss. I don’t like the way that my hair feels after using this. It feels sticky and dirtier. Also, the powder residue doesn’t completely dissolve away. I switched to Salon Grafix Invisible Dry Shampoo which is about the same price and can be found at Walgreens. Yes, it is invisible but it somehow still works. I guess you could throw that one on the nice list.
  5. Clean & Clear Advantage Acne Control Kit – I used to use Clean & Clears Advantage Fast Clearing Spot Treatment all the time (before I discovered Mario Badescu’s Buffering Lotion, see the nice list). Prior to discovering the wonders that Mario Badescu’s face wash and toners do for me, I decided to try this kit out since I liked their spot treatment. I don’t have super senstive skin but after using this once, my face was red and burned. I had a terrible reaction to the cleanser and moisturizer. I promptly returned it to Ulta and would not recommend this kit to anyone. About a week later, my face finally recovered and was almost back to normal.

Nice List

  1. Mario Badescu Buffering Lotion – This year I was introduced to a lot of Mario Badescu products and I love them all. I have a big haul coming in the mail as we speak. But if I had to pick just one product, this would be my favorite so far. I get pesky cystic pimples on my nose and while this doesn’t prevent them, this definitely helps to reduce the size and duration of it. It’s gentle enough for me to use every day with very minimal peeling and dryness unlike other products I’ve used in the past. You can find Mario Badescu products at Nordstrom, Ulta, or from their website. I highly recommend doing their free consultation to receive a bunch of free samples tailored for your skin concerns.
  2. Essie Mint Candy Apple Nail Polish – As you may know, I’ve been searching everywhere for the perfect minty green/blue polish. I’m happy to say that my search is now over. This shade is perfect for all year-round since it’s a pastel which is great for Spring/Summer but cool enough to use in the Winter. Read my past post to see a swatch.
  3. Redken Hair Cleansing Cream Shampoo – When I moved to AZ a little over a year ago, I noticed that my hair felt dirty and greasy right after I showered. I did a Google search for a shampoo to use with hard water (which we have here) and this shampoo got a ton of rave reviews. When Ulta had their liter sale for $15.99 (normally priced at $24.50), I had to pick one up. I could tell right away that my hair actually felt soft and clean after using it. It’s gentle enough to use every day but since it’s a little pricey, I use this 2-3 times a week.
  4. Urban Decay Naked Palette – When I received a 20% off coupon in the mail from Sephora and Ulta for anything I knew that I had to buy the Naked Palette. I primarily use golds and browns when it comes to eye shadow. I don’t regret this purchase at all. This is the only eye shadow I use now because it’s great for all occasions, lasts all day, and very portable. I originally bought the original and Naked 2 but decided to return Naked 2 because the colors in there are cooler (more greys). My sister has Naked 2 and loves it. It really depends on your personal preference.
  5. NYX Retractable Eye Liner – After experimenting with many retractable eye liners, I have finally found my favorite. I have both the black and brown ones (black for the top lid, brown for the bottom). I like that it’s very affordable ($4.49 at Ulta, usually they’re buy 1 get 1 50% off) and lasts all day. While it doesn’t claim to be waterproof, it practically is. I find that the liner usually survives a shower and doesn’t move or melt away in the heat. However, it’s still easy to remove and smudgeable for a smokey eye look.

This year I fell in and out of love with a lot of brands. I hope you enjoyed my list and that it’s helpful if you were considering any of the items mentioned. I’m always open to new suggestions so if you have any favorites or misses, please share!

Leave a Reply

