Delicious Baked Oatmeal Breakfast

This past Sunday, my boyfriend and I decided to plan our meal out for the entire week. This worked out great because we did most of the cooking that night. By the time I get home from dance classes or working out after a long day of work, the last thing I want to do is cook. In the mornings, I wake up with just enough time to get ready, walk the dog, and have a quick 10 minute breakfast. Up until now, I’ve been having cereal, frozen waffles, breakfast sandwiches, or frozen turkey sausages. While those aren’t terribly bad, I usually get hungry around 10AM. Trying to eat healthier, I bought a large thing of rolled oats at the grocery store a while back because they’re really good for you and cheap too. Let’s be honest, plain oatmeal is kind of gross. I usually have to put a ton of honey in it to make it tolerable. Even those Quaker Oats packets with the “fruit bits” in it are just mediocre. I saw on Pinterest a recipe for an oatmeal bake and decided to try it out.

This recipe yields about 4-6 servings depending on how you portion it out. It’s really easy to make, keeps well in the fridge, and inexpensive to make. The best part is that it keeps me full all the way up until lunch. My boyfriend loved it so much that when we ran out he requested that we make another batch! You can use any fruits and nuts that you want. I’ve tried it with both blueberries and raspberries and prefer the sweetness of the blueberries. I think a banana pecan version would be really good too with extra cinnamon. I have some really good local honey that I could probably substitute the maple syrup with too.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/4 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1 cup milk (I used Lactaid)
  • 1 large egg (You can substituted with egg whites too)
  • 2 tbsp. unsalted butter, melted (I used Smart Balance)
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 2 bananas
  • 1 cup fresh or frozen fruit of your choice

Just about everything you’ll need

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 375 F

2. Lightly grease a 2-quart baking dish (I used olive oil). In a medium bowl, you’re going to mix all the dry ingredients first. Mix the oats, half of the nuts, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt. Stir to combine the ingredients.

3. In a smaller bowl, mix the syrup, milk, egg, butter, and vanilla together.

4. Spread the sliced bananas in a single layer over the bottom of the dish and put half of the berries on top. Then, evenly layer the dry mixture over the fruit. Lastly, pour the liquid ingredients evenly over.

5. Sprinkle the remaining nuts and berries on top. Bake for 35 minutes, until the top is browned. Let cool before serving or wrap it up and put it in the fridge to enjoy later!

Yummy and healthy breakfast

Leave a Reply

