Manicure Monday: Essie Mint Candy Apple

Essie Mint Candy Apple

If you saw my Kate Spade inspired manicure post using Mint Candy Apple, you can see that the color is a sky blue. All of the swatches I had seen online were greener. I went to a different Ulta and saw that all of the other bottles were the same light blue color. I thought that maybe I had picked up a defective one. As I was checking out, I saw an Essie nail display behind the counter that they hadn’t put out yet. The display was featuring two of their most popular colors. Mint Candy Apple and another pink shade that I couldn’t read. I noticed that the color of these bottles were more of the Tiffany Blue color I was expecting and bought another bottle.

When I went home, I inspected both bottles and the serial numbers on the bottom. They’re both exactly the same.

Essie Mint Candy Apple Comparison

Essie Mint Candy Apple Comparison

The new Mint Candy Apple that I picked up looked a lot like a shade I already had, Gentle Blossom by Sally Hansen without the shimmer.

Sally Hansen Green Blossom

Here is a swatch with all 3 shades using 2 coats and no top coat. Gentle blossom is more of a mint green color. It’s very light with silver shimmer. The old Mint Candy Apple I picked up is a very light blue compared to the other 2. The new Mint Candy Apple I picked up is in the middle and is just right.

Essie Mint Candy Apples and Sally Hansen Green Blossom Comparison

Here are a few more photos of the new Mint Candy Apple I picked up both indoors and outdoors to give you a better idea.

Essie Mint Candy Apple and Tiffany & Co Comparison

Essie Mint Candy Apple in Outdoor Light

I’ve had the new color on for 4 days now and it still looks perfect minus a small chip I got trying to untangle a necklace. The old one doesn’t last as long. I’ve used it twice and both times it chipped fairly quickly. I’m decided on if I want to keep the old one or not because of this. Good thing Ulta has a great return policy allowing you to return things, even if it’s used. I did a quick Google search and couldn’t find any one else commenting on the two color variations. I’m pretty sure that the new bottle I picked up is the correct Mint Candy Apple.

One response to “Manicure Monday: Essie Mint Candy Apple

  1. Pingback: 2012 Naughty & Nice List | Living Life Frugalously·

Leave a Reply

