How to Make Cake Balls

The Holiday season is finally upon us, my favorite time of year! Halloween, Thanksgiving, Christmas (or whatever you may observe), and New Years are all focused around food and celebrations. Chunky sweaters are the perfect disguise for that food baby you’ll have for the next few months but this year, I will not allow myself to gain weight because as soon as swim season comes around in March, I’m going to be ready and not playing catch up!

However, with office pot lucks and celebrations, I’ll still indulge myself a little, I can’t say no to food. Last week I made two sets of cake balls. One for my work and one for a friend’s birthday at my old job. Everyone raved about how delicious they were. People are still talking about them this week! They’re super easy to make and are a lot more memorable than baking cookies, brownies, or cupcakes. Since my office pot luck was Halloween themed, I went with a devil’s cake mix. For my friend’s birthday, I of course opted for the funfetti mix.

Ingredients:

-1 box of cake mix of your choice

-1 can of frosting of your choice

-1 thing of chocolate coating bark

Step One:

Follow the instructions on the cake mix box. Once you have baked your cake, transfer it into a large mixing bowl. Place it in the fridge or freezer until it cools down.

Break up your cake into a mixing bowl

Once your cake is room temperature or cold, mix in a can of frosting. I’ve always used store bought because it’s easier but I’m sure it’d be really good with homemade frosting! I used cream cheese frosting for the devils cake and funfetti versions. Chocolate would probably be really good too.

Mix in your frosting

Mix in the frosting with the cake until it’s all blended together. After you’ve done this, you’ll need to place the mixture into the freezer for a few hours until it’s formed almost an ice cream like texture. It won’t be completely solid but wont break apart when you try to roll it into a ball.

Mix your frosting and cake until it’s all mixed together

Trust me, it’ll be a lot easier to work with if you’re patient and let the mixture harden. I wasn’t so patient with the chocolate batch and it made the next few steps really messy and difficult, therefore the lack of pictures and my change to the funfetti mixture. Using a spoon or small melon scooper, mold the cake mixture into small bite-sized balls. Make sure you use parchment paper for a painless removal at the end. You’ll find that the mixture will become soft really quickly as you’re rolling them in your hands. After you’re done, you’ll want to put it back in the freezer to let it harden again.

1 box of cake mix will yield more 40 cake balls!

I used the microwave to melt the chocolate bark. You’ll probably need to use the whole thing. I put it in a microwave safe bowl and put it in for 90 seconds. After mixing the chocolate, I would put it back in for 15 seconds and repeat the mixing and microwaving until it was all melted. Using a tooth pick or spoon, coat each of the cake balls in your chocolate. If you want to use sprinkles or other directions, now would be the time to do so.

Use a tooth pick to dip each cake ball into the chocolate

Finished cake balls ready to be eaten

Yummy 🙂

To store the cake balls, place them into an air-tight container. I like to keep them in the fridge or freezer until they’re ready to serve. I think they taste better cold.

What combination of cake mix and frosting will you choose?

One response to “How to Make Cake Balls

  1. I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was great. I don’t know who you are
    but definitely you’re going to a famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

Leave a Reply

