Kate Spade Confetti Inspired Manicure

manicure monday banner

I’ve been hunting for the perfect light blue nail polish. All of the shades are either too blue or too green. Finally, Ulta had Essie’s Mint Candy Apple in stock! It was originally released in 2009 as a part of the Holiday Collection. I was even considering buying it online but they were going for about $16 a bottle. I don’t know if Essie decided to re-release the shade, but you can find it for retail price ($8) now. Pictures online make the polish look a little more minty green. The bottle that I picked up was more of a baby blue color. Either way, it’s super pretty. With it being such a light color, it surprisingly was pretty opaque after 2 coats.

After I painted my nails, I wanted a little more bling. I had some blue glitter next to me that I had been using on my Halloween costume and thought the blue glitter would compliment the color really well. I love Kate Spade’s Holiday Collection with the gold confetti and thus my inspiration for my nails.

Kate Spade Holiday Dishes, my inspiration

I poured a little of the glitter on to a piece of paper and then used my fingers to pick up pieces of glitter and placed them on my dried nails (pre-topcoat). A toothpick probably would have been more more efficient but I was too lazy to go to the kitchen to get one. I placed more glitter on the bottom of my nails and less towards the top to achieve a glitter ombre look. I then used a clear topcoat over the glitter and surprisingly, none of the glitter was lifted up on to the brush. I’m super happy with the way it turned out. I would have done this to all of my nails but I didn’t have time. Here’s a picture of the finished look. Ignore the polish around my nails, I didn’t clean them off before I took the picture.

The finished look

One response to “Kate Spade Confetti Inspired Manicure

  1. Pingback: Manicure Monday: Mint Candy Apple | Living Life Frugalously·

Leave a Reply

