Pumpkin Carving

pumpkin banner

One of my favorite fall activities is pumpkin carving. Growing up, we used to paint and draw on them with Sharpies. I remember carving them a few times as my Sister and I got older. This gets pretty messy so my Mom was pretty smart in not letting us carve them.

Just because it’s still pool weather here doesn’t mean that you can’t partake in fun fall festivities! Usually, I like going to a pumpkin patch and walking around in circles until I find the perfect pumpkin but this year we did not have time so we just went to the local grocery store since we were having people over Friday after work to join in on the fun.

This year, I decided to carve an owl. I Googled owl stencils but didn’t find one that I really liked. I did see a picture of someone else’s owl carving which is what mine is based off of. I always like to buy the cheap pumpkin carving kits at the store because they work really well and I feel a lot safer using them as opposed to a knife. You can find them at the dollar store if you’re on a budget.

I’ve always cut the top off where the stem is as a way to clean the pumpkin out. This time, I cut the bottom off because it’s what the pumpkin carving booklet recommended and it’s what my boyfriend always does. This makes so much more sense because you don’t have to risk breaking off the pumpkin’s stem and it’s much safer to put the pumpkin over a candle as opposed to putting the candle inside of the pumpkin. Genius!

What’s your favorite fall activity?

Here’s my pumpkin pre-carving

My finished pumpkin

My pumpkin lit up with a tea light, definitely my best one yet!

Everyone’s pumpkins lit up

Leave a Reply

